Sinhala (Sri Lanka)Tamil (Sri Lanka)

You are here:  Home Divisions Home Affairs
Home Affairs

Management Reforms and Public Relations Division

Contact Information

Mrs. S.P.G.D. Pradeepa
Additional Secretary (Human Resources and Development)
Tel: +94 11 2187104
Fax: +94 11 2186191
e-mail: adsechrd[at]



Mr. S.A.N.R. Subasinghe
Chief Accountant
Fax: +94 11 2186511 - 12
e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it



Assistant Director
Tel: +94 11 2186513
Fax: +94 11 2186511 - 12
e-mail: -

Last Updated on Friday, 14 December 2018 08:34

Grama Niladhari Administration Division

With a view to ensure an administrative system at rural level on par with public policies, Grama Niladhari Division which is under Home Affairs Division of the Ministry of Public Administration and Home Affairs implements all administrative functions of Grama NIladharis performing their duties in 14,022 GN Divisions under 331 Divisional Secretary’s Division all over the island


An efficient and productive public service with modern technology


Ensuring a productive public service and administrative system at rural level which is highly responsive to the expectation of the general public and the priorities of nation

Organization Structure


For further details of Grama Niladhari Division visit the following web sites

Contact Information

Mrs. W.N.N. De Silva
Senior Assistant Secretary
Tel - +94-11 2696381 (Inter com- 702)
Fax - +94-11 2696381
e-mail - sas-gn[at]



Mrs. J.A.C.H. Jayasingha
Assistant Secretary
Tel - +94-11 2698456 (Inter com- 703)
e-mail - asgn[at]





Last Updated on Friday, 30 January 2015 05:22

District Administration Division


An excellent public service which ensures progress of the nation


Becoming a team of employees who has the capability to achieve a proud future with responsibility and transparency

Main Services

  • Establishment activities of District Secretaries, Additional District Secretaries, Assistant District Secretaries and the Accountants in District Secretariats.
  • Holding monthly conferences of District Secretaries/ Government Agents
  • Issuance of permits for holding commercial/social prize competitions and recovery of taxes
  • Activities related to recruitment of Technical Officers, Receptionists, Documentation Assistants and Draftsman.
  • Appointment of Notaries and all activities relating to them
  • Granting approval for appointment of registrars of birth, marriages and death
  • Establishment activities of the Department of Registrar General
  • Issuing Gazette notifications on religious ceremonies and peraheras under Pilgrimage Ordinance
  • Conducting Independence Celebrations, State sponsored funerals and other ceremonies
  • Conducting “Janatha Sathkaraka” mobile service
  • Dealing with the matters relating to national flag and national anthem
  • Issuance of ceremonial items.
  • Determination of poya holidays, public and bank holidays
  • Updating and maintenance of order of precedence
  • Dealing with activities relating to government quarters, allocation of common amenities  and schedule houses, extension of the period of allocation, repairs etc.
  • Coordination of progress review meetings – submission of the progress of the provincial progress review meetings conducted by the President’s Secretariat

Organization Structure

Contact Details

Mr. N.W. Ariyarathna
Senior Assistant Secretary
Tel - +94-11 2683652 (Inter com- 762)
Fax -
E-mail - sas-dist[at]



Mr. D.D.C. Athukorala
Assistant Secretary
Tel - +94-11 4937387 (Inter com- 763)
Fax -
E-mail - asdist[at]


Last Updated on Tuesday, 09 December 2014 04:34

Divisional Administration Division


Strengthening the divisional administration in such a way, that the people get the maximum benefit.


Management of human resources in the divisional secretariats by building efficient and effective divisional administrative structure through proper supervision and management for the realization of the wishes of the people.


  • Coordinating and guiding the activities of Divisional Secretaries.
  • Appointment and Transfers of the Divisional Secretaries and Assistant Divisional Secretaries.
  • Coordinating of building construction activities for Divisional Secretariats.
  • Supervision of Divisional Secretariats.
  • Revising systems and procedures and introducing better management systems for Divisional Secretariats’ staff.
  • Conducting management competitions among Divisional Secretariats.
  • Coordination of activities performed by other ministries though Divisional Secretariats.
  • Activities related to reservation and management of circuit bungalows operating under the Home Affairs Division to Public Officers.
  • Taking steps to improve the performance of divisional administration.

Legal Framework

Transfer of Powers (Divisional Secretaries') Act, No- 58 of 1992 is the central source of power of the Divisional Secretaries.

Home Affairs Organization Structure

Divisional Secretariats

There are 313 Divisional Secretariats, 16 AGA Offices (Assistant Government Agent Offices) and 3 Sub Offices under the purview of Divisional Administration Division.

Circuit Bungalows

There are 12 Circuit Bungalows under the purview of Home Affairs Division. They are in the following places.

  • Anuradhapura
  • Kandy
  • Galle
  • Hambanthota
  • Badulla
  • Puttalam
  • Polonnaruwa
  • Nuwara Eliya
  • Matara
  • Katharagama
  • Kurunegala
  • Jaffna

These can be reserved from the Divisional Administration Division of the ministry or the respective District Secretariat. The circuit bungalows can be reserved by government officers, semi-government officers and retired officers of these two sectors.

Last Updated on Monday, 23 April 2012 05:51

Last Update: 14-06-2019.
Visitors Counter